Triple Crown

The Triple Crown – Kentucky Derby, Preakness, Belmont Stakes

The Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing (although sometimes shortened to Triple Crown, the full name is used to avoid possible confusion with other sports) consists of three races for three-year-old Thoroughbred horses. Winning all three of these Thoroughbred horse races is considered the greatest accomplishment of a Thoroughbred racehorse. In recent years, the Triple Crown has become a very rare achievement, with most horses specializing on a limited range of distances.

In the 125-year history only 11 horses have been able to pull off the fete. Affirmed was the last horse to do it in 1978, and the 30 years since has been the longest streak without a Triple Crown winner in history.

Preakness Stakes

2012 Preakness Stakes logo

The “Race for the Black-Eyed Susans” is typically run on the third Saturday in May, just two weeks after the Kentucky Derby. This year, the second leg of the Triple Crown is in its 137th running and will take place on May 19, 2012 in Balitmore, Md. The post time of 2012 Preakness Stakes is approximately 6:20 pm EST and NBC will broadcast the race from 4:30 pm EST.

Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes is the final and most demanding leg of the Triple Crown and is held on the first Saturday three weeks after the Preakness Stakes. This year, the Belmont Stakes is in its 144th running and will take place on Saturday, June 9, 2012 at Belmont Park in Elmont, N.Y. NBC will broadcast the Belmont Stakes from 5pm EST.