2006 Race Results

2006 Kentucky Derby Winners

6-1 second choice Barbaro, who came into the race undefeated, was more than up to the task. Under regular rider Edgar Prado, he stumbled at the start but once he got into gear the race was over. He stalked the fast pace of Keyed Entry and Sinister Minister for 7 furlongs, then took over at the 5/16 pole. He pulled away to a 4 length advantage at the 1/8 pole, and Prado simply let him gallop out the distance to save something for the Preakness. He completed the 1 1/4 mile classic in 2:01.36 over the fast trakc, 6 1/2 lengths clear of the late-running Bluegrass Cat.

Race Replay and Post Race Coverage

2006 Derby Field and Winners

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Finish
1 Jazil Fernando Jara Kiaran McLaughlin 4
2 Steppenwolfer Robby Albarado Daniel Peitz 3
3 Keyed Entry Pat Valenzuela Todd Pletcher 20
4 Sinister Minister Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 16
5 Point Determined Rafael Bejarano Bob Baffert 9
6 Showing Up Cornelio Velasquez Barclay Tagg 6
7 Bob and John Garrett Gomez Bob Baffert 17
8 Barbaro Edgar Prado Michael Matz 1
9 Sharp Humor Mark Guidry Dale Romans 19
10 A.P. Warrior Corey Nakatani John Shirreffs 18
11 Sweetnorthernsaint Kent Desormeaux Michael Trombetta 7
12 Private Vow Shaun Bridgmohan Steve Asmussen 15
13 Bluegrass Cat Ramon Dominguez Todd Pletcher 2
14 Deputy Glitters Jose Lezcano Tom Albertrani 8
15 Seaside Retreat Patrick Husbands Mark Casse 10
16 Cause to Believe Russell Baze Jerry Hollendorfer 13
17 Lawyer Ron John McKee Robert Holthus 12
18 Brother Derek Alex Solis Dan Hendricks 5
19 Storm Treasure David Flores Steve Asmussen 11
20 Flashy Bull Mike Smith Kiaran McLaughlin 14